OpenAI is rolling out a feature called "Lock Chat" to make it easier for users to protect their ChatGPT conversations from prying eyes. Once enabled, users can decide whether past conversations appear in regular chat history, pinned chats, and conversation search. To access Lock Chat, users must enter a four-digit PIN. On iPhone or Android devices, users can also use authentication systems like Face ID to access these conversations. Regardless, users will find their private conversations under a new section called "Lock Chat."
OpenAI envisions Lock Chat primarily to prevent others from seeing users' conversations with ChatGPT in public settings or when lending their phones to others. However, this is not a form of end-to-end encryption and does not help users evade OpenAI's legal responsibilities if they encounter issues in the workplace or legally. The company clearly states on its newly released support page that Lock Chat will not automatically change users' model training settings and will not affect the duration OpenAI retains users' private conversations.
Lock Chat Feature Will Be Gradually Rolled Out to All Users
It is important to note that if users reset their account PIN for any reason, all locked chat content and any files uploaded to their project space will be deleted. The company warns, "This action is irreversible, and OpenAI support cannot recover deleted content." OpenAI states that the Lock Chat feature will be gradually rolled out to users. If users do not see the option immediately, it may take a few days to appear in their accounts. This feature will be available to free accounts, as well as Go, Plus, and Pro subscription users.
On Android and iOS, users can use voice mode while using Lock Chat, but they cannot lock Codex conversations behind this feature.

